If you've checked out a file, but decide to discard any changes you've made, you can undo the checkout. This has the effect of checking the file back in (that is, other users can then check the file out), but doesn't update it with changes. For example, if you mistakenly checked out a file instead of simply getting the latest version, undo the checkout instead of checking the file back in. This prevents the source code control system from having to create another version of the file, thus saving time and space.
|If you want to view a file but don't need to check it out, you can get the latest version of it.|